The Session Manager Capplet allows you to control the GNOME
Session Management. This includes which programs start up when you log in,
whether to automatically save your GNOME requests, and whether to confirm
log out requests. You can find out more information about Session
Management in Chapter 18.
Prompt on logout - This first option allows you
to disable the confirmation dialog when logging out.
Automatically save changes to session - This
will make the Session Management always save changes made to your
GNOME session when you log out. If this option is not set you can still
have GNOME save your session changes by checking the appropriate box in
the log out confirmation dialog.
Non-session-managed Startup Programs - This
allows you to start non-session managed applications whenever you
start a GNOME session.
NOTE: Programs that are not GNOME compliant are not session managed so will not
be restarted without being listed here. You do not need to put GNOME
applications in here, you can simply leave them running and save the
current session when you log out.
If you wish to add a new program to the
Non-session-managed Startup Programs press
the Add button. This will launch a simple
dialog that allows you to specify the command to launch the
application and what priority it will receive.
The priority for most applications you wish to start is 50. If
you have an application that needs to be started before other
applications, like a window manager, you should set the priority
to a lower number.
IMPORTANT: This option is for advanced users. Unless you are familiar with
the Priority settings you should keep you applications running
with a Priority of 50.
Browse Currently Running Programs - This allows you
to see what applications are currently running. You can shut down those
applications if you wish and those applications will be removed from your
GNOME session. The applications in this list are mostly higher level
applications and should not be shut down. However, if there is a part of
GNOME that you do not wish to run, like the Panel, this is where you would
shut it down for now and prevent it from being started when you initiate
GNOME in the future.
IMPORTANT: This option is for advanced users only. You should not use this tool shut
down applications you may wish to use the next time you log in to GNOME.