Automatic Partitioning allows you to perform an
installation without having to partition your drive(s) yourself. If you
do not feel comfortable with partitioning your system, it is recommended
that do not choose to partition manually and
instead let the installation program partition for you.
The Automatic Partitioning screen is only seen when
performing a workstation- or server-class installation. If you are
performing a custom-class installation, or choose to manually partition,
please refer to the section called Partitioning Your System.
In this screen, you can choose to continue with this installation, to
partition manually, or use the Back button to
choose a different installation method (see Figure 6-4).
If you do not want to lose some or all of your
data, you should either choose to partition manually or choose a
different installation class.
 | Caution |
|---|
| | A workstation-class installation will remove all data on all
currently existing Linux partitions.
|
 | Caution |
|---|
| | A server-class installation will remove all data on all
partitions of all hard drives.
|
If you are unsure how you want your system to be partitioned, please
refer to Chapter 3 or Chapter 4 and the
chapter on partitioning in the Official Red Hat Linux Reference Guide.