Version control systems use locks to prevent the same files from being modified by two developers simultaneously. If a lock is used while revising a file, no one can modify the file until it is unlocked. Locking and unlocking can be controlled by checking in or checking out versions.
Red Hat EDK provides a graphical user interface to several external version control systems. With version control you can organize your development to manage versions, version history, labels, and related documents.
Using Version Control
The following version control systems have been integrated with Source-Navigator: GNU Revision Control System (RCS), Concurrent Versions System (CVS), and the Source Code Control System (SCCS). It has also been integrated with Rational's ClearCase version 3; other versions may also work, although these have not been tested. When creating a project, you may need to specify the correct version control system being used to manage the body of source code you wish to analyze. You make your selection in the
Version Control
tab of the
Preferences
dialog (see Version Control Preferences).
To start version control, from the
Tools
menu, select
Revision Control -> Revision Control Editor
(see Revision Version Control Window).
Revision Version Control Window
Checking Out a File
In the
Editor, from the
Tools
menu select
Revision Control -> Check Out
to check out a file. Versions of a file can be checked out for modification either locked or unlocked. Checking out with
With lock
selected in the
Check Out
dialog box prevents other users from checking out the same version in write mode.
Check Out Dialog Box
Checking In a File
You can check in all or selected project files into your version control system. When you check in, you can enter descriptive text of the changes and a version number. Using the left-mouse button, select one or more files to check in. With these files highlighted, in the
Revision Control Editor
window, from the
Edit
menu, select
Check In. The
Check In
dialog is displayed.
Check In Dialog Box
If you check in with
With lock
selected in this dialog box, others may not check out the same file in write mode.
This is useful if you are continuously working on a particular file, but wish to register checkpoints in your work without giving other developers the opportunity to make modifications to that file.
Discarding Changes to a File
To revert working files to the repository version, in the
Revision Control Editor
window, from the
Edit
menu, select
Discard Changes.
Show Differences
The
Diff tool highlights differences between the current version of a file (the one you have checked out) and another one that you select from the list of available version numbers.
To access this tool, from the
Edit
menu select
Compare Revisions.
Showing Differences
Version Control Preferences
Use the
Version Control
tab of the
Preferences
window to tell Source-Navigator what source code control system you're running. You can access this tab from the
Symbol Browser
from the
File
menu by selecting
Project Preferences, or from the
Version Control
window from the
Edit
menu by selecting
View Preferences.
Version Control Tab of the Preferences Dialog
Version control system
Select your external version control system for the project.
Ignored directories
These directories will be ignored by the Source-Navigator as it scans for files to parse.