GNOME has a couple of helpful methods for Logging out. You may either use
the menu item or the
Logout button.
The menu item is the bottom menu item in
the . Simply select the
menu item and you will be prompted on
whether you would like to log out or not. Select Yes
and your GNOME session will end.
If you would like, you may add the Logout button to
the Panel. This is just another method for logging out. It provides no
functionality beyond providing a pretty button. To add the
Logout button to the Panel, right mouse click on the
Panel and select the menu item
from the menu. Once the button is there you may
press it to log out.
NOTE: If you are running a window manager that is GNOME compliant, the logout
feature will quit the window manager as well as GNOME. If you are running a
non-compliant window manager you will have to end that window manager
yourself.
The Logout dialog will display when you log out of GNOME. This dialog
will ask you whether or not you really want to log out. It also provides you
with different methods of quitting GNOME.
You have three choices on how to quit GNOME. You may
Logout which will simply take you to a terminal;
Halt, which will shut down the whole system; or
Reboot, which will reboot the whole system.
If you do not want to log out you may press the No
button and you will be returned to your GNOME session.
Within the Logout Dialog there is one option you may choose before you leave
GNOME.
If you would like to save your current setup, you may select the
Save current setup checkbox. This will save those
programs you have open, and the configuration of your Panel.